Kells Priory is one of the most impressive Augustinian priories in Ireland. It is a unique example of a fortified monastery, combining elements of both religious architecture and late medieval military architecture. The priory was built in 1193 by Geoffrey Fitz Robert de Monte Morisco, Lord of the Cantred of Kenlis. Geoffrey brought four canons over from Bodim Priory in Cornwall to establish a community outside his borough of Kells. As this site is managed by the OPW, school tour visits are permitted free of charge provided certain conditions are met.